the difference between spiritual and mundane attitude

 

Do you know what makes the difference between spiritual and mundane attitude? No? Well just read bellow the eight mundane concerns .

`Like and dislike, gain and loss, praise and blame, fame and disgrace: these are the eight mundane concerns which condition our existence.`

The Dalai Lama writes in Training the Mind Verse 8, “The eight mundane concerns are attitudes that tend to dominate our lives generally. They are: becoming elated when someone praises you, becoming depressed when someone insults or belittles you, feeling happy when you experience success, being depressed when you experience failure, being joyful when you acquire wealth, feeling dispirited when you become poor, being pleased when you have fame, and feeling depressed when you lack recognition.”

Our reactions should be quite the opposite. The LoJong teachings offer:

May I be gladdened when someone belittles me, and may I not take pleasure when someone praises me. If I do take pleasure in praise then it immediately increases my arrogance, pride, and conceit; whereas if I take pleasure in criticism, then at least it will open my eyes to my own shortcomings.

*Our proposed exercise to avoid the eight mundane concerns :

‘Training the Mind: Verse 8

May all this remain undefiled
By the stains of the eight mundane concerns;
And may I, recognizing all things as illusion,
Devoid of clinging, be released from bondage.’

 

via –

Centrul Seeds for Happiness

Lasă un răspuns

